What you need to know about closing your Microsoft account
We're sorry to see you go, and we want to make sure that you have everything you need to know before you close your Microsoft account.
You'll have 60 days after you close your account to change your mind. Microsoft permanently removes the account after 60 days, and you then lose access to all services that require your Microsoft account email address and password for sign-in. This includes any content, games, applications, or OneDrive content that requires you to be signed in to Xbox Live to access.
Closing your Microsoft account does not cancel any subscriptions that you have associated with it.
If you close your Microsoft account, you won't be able to sign in on your Xbox console, even if you previously saved your email address and password to the console.
By closing your Microsoft account, you'll no longer be able to manage your child's parental controls. You can choose either of these options:
Allow your child to continue to use Xbox Live. Your child's account will have to be associated to another parent account and receive parental consent through that account to use the Xbox Live service. For more information, see Add a new member to your family on Xbox One.
Before you close your account, cancel all subscriptions and use up any balance
If you don't cancel, you will continue to be billed for them. Here's how to cancel:
Under Subscriptions, select Cancel next to the subscriptions that you are cancelling, and then follow the instructions to complete cancelling your subscriptions.
Use up your account balances. Any balance you have from a Microsoft or Xbox gift card will be lost when you close your account. Check your balance.
How to close your account
Once you've taken care of your subscriptions and balances, follow these steps:
Select Security & privacy. You might receive a security code on your phone or in an email to verify that you're the account owner. If you do, enter the code on the account webpage.
Select More security settings.
Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Close your account.
Review the recommended actions to take before closing your account, and then select Next.
Select each of the checkboxes to acknowledge that you have read and understand each.
Select Mark account for closure at the bottom of the page. This confirms that you understand that you will lose access to all sites, services, and data associated with your Microsoft account in 60 days.
Changed your mind about closing your Microsoft account?
If you change your mind within 60 days, all you have to do is go back to account.microsoft.com and sign in with your email address and password. You'll be asked to enter a security code that we send you by phone or email so we know we're opening the account for you and only you.
Note the following:
Any time still remaining on your subscription will be available to you, but you won't be able to get back the time that passed while your account was closed.
If you turned off auto renewal on your Xbox Live or Xbox Groove Music subscription, you'll need to turn it back on.
If you canceled any subscriptions outright or if your subscription time has run out, you'll need to re-purchase the subscription.
Your Xbox profile, along with all games, music, and video associated with it will be available to you the next time you sign in to your console.
Note After 60 days, your Microsoft account will be permanently deleted, and you will not be able to re-open your account.