What you need to know about closing your Microsoft account
We’re sorry to see you go, and we want to make sure that you have everything you need to know before you close your Microsoft account.
You’ll have 60 days after you close your account to change your mind. After 60 days, your account will be permanently removed, and you will lose access to all services that require your Microsoft account email address and password for sign-in. This includes any content, games, applications or OneDrive content that require you to be signed in to Xbox Live to access.
Closing your Microsoft account does not cancel any of the subscriptions you have associated with it.
If you close your Microsoft account, you won’t be able to sign in on your Xbox console, even if you previously saved your email address and password to the console.
By closing your Microsoft account, you’ll no longer be able to manage your child’s parental controls. Your child’s account will need to be associated to another parent account and receive parental consent through that account to use the Xbox Live service. Add a new member to your Xbox One family. Note Family accounts apply only to the Xbox One console or to families you’ve set up to manage your child’s Internet experience at familysafety.microsoft.com.
Before you close your account
Cancel all open subscriptions. If you don’t cancel, you’ll continue to be billed for them.
To cancel your Xbox Live and Xbox Music subscriptions, follow these steps:
Sign in at the top of any xbox.com page, such as this one (unless you’re already signed in).
Under your account name at the top of any xbox.com page, click or tap My Account.
If prompted, provide your password.
Click Cancel automatic payment.
Complete the short survey.
Most, but not all, of your other subscriptions can be removed at commerce.microsoft.com. If you don’t see that option for the services you use, contact that service directly.
Use up your account balances. Any balances you have from a Microsoft or Xbox gift card may be lost when you close your account. Check your balance.
How to close your account
Once you’ve taken care of your subscriptions and balances, follow these steps.
From a PC, go to accounts.live.com and sign in to your Microsoft account using the email address and password associated with the account.
Click or tap Security and Password. Verify that you’re the account holder by receiving and entering a security code.
Scroll down and select Close your account.
The following pages will detail what you need to know about closing your account. Read them carefully.
When you’re prompted, confirm that you have read each of the impact statements.
Click Mark account for closure to confirm that you understand that you will lose access to all sites, services and data associated with your Microsoft account.
Changed your mind about closing your Microsoft account?
If you change your mind within 60 days, all you have to do is go back to account.live.com and sign in with your email address and password. You’ll be asked to receive and enter a security code so that we know we’re opening the account for you and only you.
Note the following:
Any time still remaining on your subscription will be available to you, but you will not be able to get back the time that passed while your account was closed.
If you turned off auto-renew on your Xbox Live or Xbox Music subscription, you’ll need to turn it back on.
If you cancelled any subscriptions outright, or if your subscription time has run out, you’ll need to re-purchase the subscription.
Your Xbox profile, along with all games, music, and video associated with it will be available to you the next time you sign in to your console.
Note After 60 days, your Microsoft account will be permanently deleted, and you will not be able to re-open your account.