Share or delete Kinect photos and videos

Overview

Some Kinect games can take photos and videos of you and your friends while you’re playing a game. You can then upload these photos and videos to websites and services such as KinectShare.com. Photos and videos uploaded to KinectShare.com can be downloaded, printed, and shared with your friends and family on social networking sites like Facebook.

Solutions

Change your privacy settings to allow Kinect Sharing

If you want to upload your photos and videos to websites and services such as KinectShare.com, the Kinect Sharing setting on your console must be set to "Allowed." This setting is part of your console’s online safety settings.

To change the Kinect Sharing setting
  1. On your console, sign in using your Xbox Live gamertag.
  2. Go to Settings, then select Privacy.
  3. Select Change Settings.
  4. Select Customize.
  5. Select Kinect Sharing.
  6. Select Allowed or Blocked.
  7. Allowed: You can upload and share photos and videos using websites and services such as KinectShare.com. Use your Microsoft account to sign in to KinectShare.com and see your uploaded photos and videos. Learn more about KinectShare.com.

    Blocked: Photos and videos cannot be uploaded and shared on photo-sharing websites and services.

  8. Press B on your controller.
  9. Select Save and Exit.

Complete these steps for each person in your family.

Note If you are changing a setting on a child account, you are asked to enter the Microsoft account information of the associated adult account.

Sharing is available in your game only when all the players who are signed in have Kinect Sharing set to Allow.

Then, you can upload your pictures or videos directly from within your Kinect game.

Once you’ve shared from the game, visit KinectShare.com and log in with the Microsoft account that is associated with your Xbox Live account.

How do I delete photos and videos from my game or from KinectShare.com?

Most Kinect games do not save your images or videos. If you do not upload the images or videos immediately from the game, they are lost. If your game does save images and videos, you can check the game’s manual and menus for steps that you can use to delete them.

Any photo or video that is uploaded to KinectShare.com is automatically deleted after 14 days. You can also manually delete any photo or video from the site at any time. Just visit KinectShare.com and log in with the Microsoft account that is associated to your Xbox Live account. Then, delete the photos or videos. They are never made public unless you choose to share them using KinectShare.com.

Was this article helpful?

Yes
No

Thank you for your feedback

Thanks for your feedback!

We're sorry this article didn't solve your problem. We won't give up and neither should you. Try this community option, below.
Get help from the community
Ambassador chat image
Ambassador chat
Chat one on one with a fellow Xbox User who wants to help.

Provide feedback for this topic

255 characters remain.
To protect your privacy, please do not include contact information in your feedback.
Get help from the community
Ambassador chat image
Ambassador chat
Chat one on one with a fellow Xbox User who wants to help.

Contact Us

Would you like to contact Support regarding the "Share or delete Kinect photos and videos" issue you were reading about or a different issue?