Accept faptul că acest site foloseşte cookies pentru statistici, conţinut şi reclame personalizate.

How to close your Microsoft account

We're sorry to see you go, and we want to make sure that you have everything you need to know before you close your Microsoft account.

Note Xbox consoles are not available in all locales.

  • You have 60 days after you close your account to change your mind. Microsoft permanently removes the account after 60 days, and you lose access to all services that require your Microsoft account email address and password for sign-in. This includes any content, games or apps that require you to be signed in to Xbox Live.
  • Closing your Microsoft account does not cancel any of the memberships you have associated with your account.
  • If you close your Microsoft account, you won't be able to sign in on your Xbox console, even if you previously saved your email address and password to the console.
  • By closing your Microsoft account, you'll no longer be able to manage your child's parental controls. You will have these options:
    • Revoke your child's permissions immediately.
    • Allow your child to continue to use Xbox Live. Your child's account will have to be associated to another parent account and receive parental consent through that account to use the Xbox Live service.

Before you close your account

Before you close your account, use up any account balance. Any balance you have from a Microsoft or Xbox gift card may be lost when you close your account. Check your balance at account.microsoft.com.

How to close your account

  1. Go to account.microsoft.com and sign in with your Microsoft account email address and password.
  1. Click or tap Security & privacy. You may need to verify that you're the account holder by receiving and entering a security code.
  2. Click or tap More security settings.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click or tap Close your account.
  4. Review the recommended actions to take before closing your account. Select Next.
  5. Select the check boxes to acknowledge that you have read each item.
  6. Click or tap Mark account for closure. This confirms you understand that you will lose access to all sites, services, and data associated with your Microsoft account in 60 days.

Note After 60 days, your Microsoft account will be permanently deleted, and you will not be able to re-open your account.

Changed your mind about closing your Microsoft account?

If you change your mind within 60 days, all you have to do is go back to account.microsoft.com and sign in with your Microsoft account email address and password. You'll be asked to receive and enter a security code so we know we're opening the account for you and only you.

Your Xbox profile, along with all content associated with it will be available to you the next time you sign in to your console.

To provide better support, did this solution solve your problem?

Yes
No

Thank you for your feedback

Thanks for your feedback!

We're sorry this article didn't solve your problem. We won't give up and neither should you. Try this community option, below.
Get help from the community
Ambassador chat image
Ambassador chat
Chat one on one with a fellow Xbox User who wants to help.

Provide feedback for this topic

255 characters remain.
To protect your privacy, please do not include contact information in your feedback.
Get help from the community
Ambassador chat image
Ambassador chat
Chat one on one with a fellow Xbox User who wants to help.

Contact Us

Would you like to contact Support regarding the "How to close your Microsoft account" issue you were reading about or a different issue?