As recently announced, Microsoft and Nike will close the Nike+ Kinect Training service on Xbox 360 on July 21, 2017. After this date, you will still be able to enjoy the Nike+ Kinect Training game locally on your Xbox 360 console but will no longer be able to access certain online features. Previously uploaded workout data may still be available locally on your console, but will not be accessible through the online service after July 21, 2017.
Previously uploaded workout data may still be available locally on your console and on Nike.com.
Q. Why are you closing the Nike+ Kinect Training online service?
A. The online service has reached the end of its lifecycle and we are ending support. While you will be unable to access the service, you will be able to access most of the game’s functionality on your local console.
Q. What will happen to the data that I already uploaded to the service?
A. Data uploaded to the Nike+ Kinect Training service is managed by Nike. Visit http://www.nike.com/activity for more details.
Q. I’m actively playing this game. Will it still work?
A. Yes – most of the game will continue to function locally after the service is turned off, and your previously uploaded workout data will still be available locally. Certain online features will not function as expected.
Q. How do I save my workout data to my local console?
A. To automatically save your data locally on your console, sign into Xbox Live on your console and select a location to save before beginning your workout. If you do not sign into Xbox Live first, your progress will not be saved.
Q. What happens if I try to upload data from my game after the service has been turned off, or if I try to start a multiplayer game?
A. If you play the game after the service is closed, you will see a message indicating that the Nike+ online service is offline, with the option to return to the Main Menu. From the Main Menu, you can continue to play or join a session provided that it doesn’t require the use of the Nike+ service.
If you do try to access the Nike+ Kinect Training service once closed, you’ll see a message indicating that the server is unavailable, with an option to try again later. As the online service has been closed, trying again later will not work, so return to the Main Menu and do not use the Nike+ service.
You will no longer be able to connect with a friend to take part in a multiplayer game – any attempt to launch the “Take on the World” public service will no longer be available, and will result in a "Server Unavailable" error message.
Q. Can I still launch Nike+ Kinect Training and set up a profile?
A. Yes, however you will not be able to link to or create a Nike+ account. Trying to do so will result in a "Service Unavailable" error.
Q. Can I continue to play the game and gather NikeFuel points?
A. NikeFuel will no longer be generated or sync to your Nike+ account. All NikeFuel generated and synced prior to the closure of services will be visible on your Nike+ account. Visit https://www.nike.com/activity to sign in.
Thanks for your feedback!
Provide feedback for this topic
Would you like to contact Support regarding the "Nike+ Kinect Training online service closure" issue you were reading about or a different issue?